Board of Directors - Tabula Rasa HealthCare
Home > Who We Are > Board of Directors

The TRHC Board

Tabula Rasa HealthCare is led by a diverse and experienced board of directors comprised of members drawn from careers in business, healthcare, finance, academia, and public service. Our board is dedicated to enabling simplified and individualized care that improves human health and well-being.

After 36 years as an audit partner at Deloitte and Touche, Michael Purcell is now a consultant for several venture funds and has served on the Board of Directors and Audit Committee of multiple for-profit entities.

Michael Purcell
Independent Board Chairman
Tabula Rasa HealthCare

 Michael Purcell was audit partner at Deloitte & Touche for 36 years, serving as the Philadelphia Office leader for middle-market and growth enterprises. He has assisted many emerging companies, including successful initial public offerings and exit transactions. He currently serves as a consultant for several venture funds. Mr. Purcell has served on the Board of Directors and Audit Committees of numerous for-profit entities, including Capital Funding Bancorp, McKean Defense Group, Code 3 Emergency Partners, and Intermex.

Brian Adams
President and CEO
Tabula Rasa HealthCare

 Brian Adams serves as President and CEO of TRHC. Previously, he was President overseeing strategy, sales and account management, professional affairs, IT and software engineering, legal, human resources and finance. Formerly TRHC’s CFO, Adams guided TRHC through successful public and private debt and equity financing efforts and designed and implemented a plan to achieve profitability. His broad management experience includes strategic planning, business performance optimization, and financial integration for mergers and acquisitions. He was honored as CFO of the Year by the Philadelphia Business Journal in 2020, named one of the Top CFOs in the region in 2015 by South Jersey Biz Magazine, and recognized as CFO of the Year in 2014 by the New Jersey Tech Council.

Samira Beckwith has led Hope Healthcare for more than 25 years.

Samira K. Beckwith
President and CEO
Hope Healthcare

Samira K. Beckwith is President and CEO of Hope Healthcare. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Florida Center for Nursing. Dr. Beckwith was appointed to the White House Conference on Aging and the US Senate Special Committee on Aging. She also was Chair of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation. Dr. Beckwith is the Founding President of the Florida PACE Association and a Founding Director of the National Hospice Work Group.

Dr. Helling is a clinical professor at the University of Colorado and has served on the Board of Trustees for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

Dennis K. Helling, PharmD, ScD
Executive Director Emeritus, Pharmacy
Kaiser Permanente, Colorado

Dennis K. Helling, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FCCP, FASHP, FAPhA is Executive Director Emeritus, Pharmacy Operations & Therapeutics, Kaiser Permanente Colorado, and retired Clinical Professor, University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. He served as President of American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation. He is on the Boards of Care Synergy and Denver Hospice. Dr. Helling received the 2013 Remington Honor Medal, Pharmacy’s Highest Award.

Ron Mitchell
CEO and Co-Founder of Humanity Health

Ron Mitchell is CEO and Co-Founder of Humanity Health, a leading executive recruitment and development platform for the healthcare and life sciences industry. Previously, Ron was CEO of Virgil Holdings Inc., an enterprise SaaS company that owns and operates Hcareers and Virgil Careers. He has more than 20 years of experience building technology-enabled enterprise businesses, providing him with a keen understanding of the challenges that managers face in strategic execution, mergers and acquisitions, and team leadership.

Kathy O’Brien oversees a portfolio of brands that include Dove, Caress, Suave, and Vaseline for UNILEVER.

Kathy O’Brien
Vice President/General Manager, Skin & Marketing Services

Kathy O’Brien is Vice President of Skin and Marketing Services, Unilever North America, overseeing a portfolio of brands including Dove, Caress, Suave, and Vaseline. Previously, she was Unilever’s Vice President and General Manager of Foods in the U.S. Ms. O’Brien was named a “Top Woman in Grocery” by Progressive Grocer Magazine and Advertising Age’s “25 Women to Watch”. She is a Board Director of Network of Executive Women, Cosmetic Executive Women, and a Trustee of Lehigh Valley Health Network.

Derek Schrier, Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer, Indaba Capital Management, LP

Derek Schrier
Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer
Indaba Capital Management, LP

Prior to founding Indaba Capital Management, LP, in 2010, Derek Schrier was a partner at Farallon Capital Management, L.L.C. He has also worked at Goldman Sachs & Co., as well as for the anti-apartheid movement in South Africa, ultimately managing the elections research for the African National Congress’s political campaign during that country’s first-ever democratic and non-racial elections.

Jonathan Schwartz, Interim General Counsel, Brookings Institution

Jonathan Schwartz
Interim General Counsel, Brookings Institution

Jonathan Schwartz has more than three decades of experience at the highest levels of business and government. He has served as the general counsel of several leading tech, media, and financial services companies. His experience also includes serving as a senior advisor to the attorney general and deputy attorney general at the Department of Justice in Washington, D.C.

RADM Schweitzer has received numerous honors for her contributions to pharmacy, including the APhA Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award in 2014, the IHS Senior Pharmacist of the Year award in 2013, and the USPHS Mary Louise Anderson Leadership Award in 2012.

Rear Admiral Pamela Schweitzer, PharmD
Chief Pharmacy Officer
United States Public Health Services

Rear Admiral (RADM) Pamela Schweitzer was Assistant Surgeon General and Chief Pharmacy Officer of the United States Public Health Service (PHS), responsible for providing leadership and coordination of PHS pharmacy programs and professional affairs. She served with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Indian Health Service (IHS) and Veterans Administration (VA). RADM Schweitzer has received numerous honors, including American Pharmacists Association Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award, USPHS Mary Louise Anderson Leadership Award, and IHS Senior Pharmacist of the Year.

Our leaders

Our leadership team is responsible for setting our strategic objectives and executing against those objectives to improve the health of the people we ultimately serve. Get acquainted with the rest of our team >>

Fill 1 Copy 2closeFill 5 Copy 4green-arrowhamburgerFill 7 Copy 4Fill 1 Copy 4pauseplaysearch-iconFill 3 Copy 4