Jacques Turgeon, BPharm, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer

Jacques Turgeon

Jacques Turgeon, BPharm, PhD, is the Chief Scientific Officer at Tabula Rasa HealthCare in Moorestown, N.J., and CEO of the company’s Precision Pharmacotherapy Research and Development Institute in Lake Nona. He was previously associate dean of the Lake Nona campus at the University of Florida (UF) College of Pharmacy and professor in the Department of Pharmaceutics.

Before joining UF, Dr. Turgeon held several leadership positions at the University of Montreal, as vice-rector for research, dean of the School of Pharmacy, chief executive officer of the university hospital, and director of the hospital’s research center. He also taught pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.

Dr. Turgeon is a known expert on pharmacogenetics and drug–drug interactions, particularly among treatments for cardiovascular disease. Through his research, he has worked to implement clinical decision support systems and optimize patient care. In 2010, Dr. Turgeon received the Prix Louis–Hébert Award for career excellence from the Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec. For his contributions to pharmacology education and training he took home the Prix
d’excellence en enseignement from the Université Laval twice, in 2011 and 2013. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and Académie Nationale de Médecine, France. Dr. Turgeon began his pharmacy studies at the Université Laval in Québec, Canada, earning his BSc, MSc, and PhD from the École de Pharmacie. In 1998, he moved to Nashville, Tenn., to pursue a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Clinical Pharmacology at Vanderbilt
University. He has supervised and mentored more than 100 undergraduate and graduate students and belongs to numerous societies, including the American Heart Association, the International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics, and the Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Dr. Turgeon is the newest member of the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT) board of directors and began his appointment as treasurer in March 2019.